Renovation blues

renovateWell the bank manager has given the nod, the husband is home and everything is in place for the impending renovations – with the exception of the builder.

He’s been missing in action for a few months now on a big job somewhere near the city and harder to get hold of than the proverbial needle in the haystack.

I can only assume that he is still doing the job but I have the signed quote attached to my hip and his address stuffed into my ‘important file’ in my less important filing cabinet just in case.

He was supposed to start last month.  Hell, he was supposed to start early in the New Year, but the Queensland floods created a deluge of their own with builders of every genre massing to rebuild, remodel and remain out of my reach.  There’s not a builder available within 200 miles of my immediate area and I’ll be darned if I’m paying travelling fees as well.

The disadvantage I have is that I live on an island.  Transport costs and materials are going to be more expensive because of it.  The one advantage that I have is that my designated builder lives on the island and will be only too happy to get the job done when he is free – apparently.

I’m now waiting for him to get back to me after playing phone tag for a week to let me know if he is going to be held up with his current job or I will be waiting another two months to be woken up at the sparrow fart to enjoy a day of sawing, hammering and dust while trying to set my computer up in a temporary ‘office’ well away from the commotion.

I’m looking forward to having a new, larger office, a new improved veranda and a second bathroom but I want it done now.

In the meantime, I will be hiding the excess funds in a secret location well away from my 007-licence-to-spend husband or I could end up with a pink elephant that he just had to have before somebody else got it.

Leave a Reply

