Ads of nauseum 2

It’s official! I am declaring my own personal war on television and Foxtel advertising.

I have decided to record my favourite programs on my Foxtel IQ, have a life, then go back and press play later on and zap those darn ads into oblivion.

I had this lightbulb moment while enduring yet another 10 ads in a row, pretty much the same 10 ads I had seen in a row not 15 minutes beforehand. If  I was going to have to endure these darn ads, then why couldn’t  I be given some variety? Or even better, why did I have to endure them at all? I had to take action before I lost my sanity somewhere in between A Current Affair and The Mentalist.

Personally, I would have liked to go back to the good old days when Foxtel first started out, and had that ‘sweet deal’ with the government and weren’t allowed to show any advertisement for the first couple of years. After that, I guess it became open season. But while the memory of this no-ad utopia is dim, the newest offering by Foxtel is, at least, relieving some of my ad-nauseum.

With the latest Foxtel IQ I could record to hard drive without having to go out and buy another hard drive or media centre. Finally, the answer to my prayers.

While I may not be able to get the  instant gratification of my shows in real time, the gratification of pressing the ‘fast-fast-forward’ button and sending those blasted ads into digital disarray will be mind blowing.

I can also press ‘delete’ when I’m finished watching what I want and get rid of those pesky parasitic promotions for good.

I feel good already.

Leave a Reply

