What’s it all about?

I’ve been reading an interesting book this last week, or by my standards it’s interesting. The book’s name is ‘The Link’ and it is based on one of the most complete early primate fossils ever found. The most astonishing thing about this for me is that the fossil is dated at around 47 million years old, and rewrites what scientists know about primate evolution.

The study of earth’s past, ancient primates, and ancient man isn’t everybody’s thing, and some aren’t into the idea of evolution, but I find it as good a read as others might find a Stephen King epic.

I got hooked a while back when I did an Archaeology unit as an elective at university about 6 years ago. What started off as a subject of mild interest to get me enough credits has turned into a half a large bookshelf of information ranging from Darwin’s ‘On The Origin of Species,’ to my latest acquisition, ‘Kluge,’ which hypothesizes the haphazard evolution of the human mind over an insurmountable period of time.

I rarely read fiction, although some might consider what I read the work of theorists basing many assumptions on many nondescript findings in the earth. To me, fiction can be boring, although I do enjoy a good action/adventure flick or a murder mystery on cable – I am not immune to entertainment, that’s for sure. The fact is, I would rather read something that I can use to develop understanding of what might create confusion and bias in others.

There are many beliefs in the world, and a lot of these beliefs are based on what people know about a particular subject. Religion is probably the best example of belief adherence and education in a particular area of interest. There are many types of religions in the world, and who is to say that the beliefs that are held by different religions aren’t relevant and factual in some way, just like my belief in the way that the earth and humanity has evolved is relevant to those that study it, find evidence and theorise to back it up.

And before anybody gets heated up about what I am saying here, I’m not really saying anything. I still believe in a higher power of sorts, and hopefully I will meet that higher power one day when it’s my time. What I am saying, however, is that it’s nice to have an open mind without condemnation. The more we discover about our universe, the less sense it makes. What is proven theory one day can be overridden the next by a new discovery that points us in a completely new direction.

Some things can’t be explained, even by science. Some things remain mysterious, with explanations too fantastic to contemplate. Other dimensions, quantum physics, time travel, worm holes, spiritual experiences. It all seems pretty far fetched, but then, so did flying and space travel not long ago.

The critics of evolution should keep an open mind, as should science on the future of the unexplained. There is room enough for both in a universe that is neither uniform or predictable, but is ever present, dynamic and old enough to leave a few clues behind for those that are lucky enough to find them.

One Response

  1. […] What’s it all about? (writemystuff.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

