My new car

I’m not one that generally likes to drive around a lot, especially lately with more cars on the road now than the infrastructure can cope with, but  I have been lucky enough to acquire a new set of wheels recently, which has been enough to pique my interest again.

My husband, bless him, decided that it was time to say goodbye to my poor old clunker, and negotiate a good price on a new car. He’s not one to pay full price for anything though, and is king haggler in a Scottish family who probably still have their first earned farthing stashed in a hanky somewhere for a rainy day.

I liked my old clunker though. She’d seen me through the good times and the bad, and was a queen in her day. Push button luxury with all the bells and whistles. It wasn’t hard to bring me around though. As soon as I caught a whiff of that new car upholstery, I was hooked. The iPod dock and Blue Tooth just sealed the deal, which was a disaster for my husband. It is difficult to look disinterested in an effort to get the upper hand, and therefore negotiate a lower price, when the wife is sizing up for the sheep skin covers and calling the insurance company on the mobile.

I tried to play it cool. I really did. But I was like a rabbit caught in the glare of the new car headlights. I was mesmerized by the digital glow of the cockpit, the luxury seats and the distinct lack of yesterday’s bells and whistles.  And you never know who just might be lurking, ready to buy my new car before the negotiating was over. Hang the expense.

I have been asked, as nicely as possible through gritted teeth, to stay away from any future negotiations that involve four wheels, bricks and mortar, and large sums of money.

Leave a Reply

