Transcription 2012

Well, I’m back into it again. I’ve been slowly extricating myself from the Christmas and New Year festivities, and still feeling a tad lazy and in holiday mode.

I started to warm up my keyboard fingers for a week or two and then got a virus, so my big plans of achieving my goal of 50 percent of the second last module of my study course by now went down the veritable toilet.

I’m talking about my medical transcription certification course. I’ve talked about it before, and I will probably talk about it again, in an effort to blow off some steam and give y’all an idea of just what takes up most of my days, and keeps me up some nights. Nothing I have done in the past, university, Tafe or that horrible woman that I worked with a few years ago, has anything on what I am putting myself through in an effort to achieve my goal of working from home, and for myself.

I’m up to the transcription side of the course, and the theory side is an uncomfortable memory as I settle into the BAC module, better known as the ‘Basic Acute Care’ module. Let me tell you right now, there is nothing ‘basic’ about this module at all. I’m transcribing hospital reports of all kinds, clinic notes, radiology reports, complete medical histories, operation reports, and whatever else that comes my way from the hundreds of ‘real life’ reports that have been taken from clinics and hospitals from all over America, and possibly the world. Some of the jargon in the reports sounds like a foreign language, and that is without the aid of the foreign dictators that are thrown in just for extra pain, gain, and experience.

Just when I think I’m starting to get it, along comes a new dictator in a new setting to let me know that I shouldn’t be getting too comfortable or too smug in my newfound knowledge and experience.

So far I’ve typed well over 350 ‘real life’ reports, only the names and dates have been deleted to protect the privacy of those who participated or were talked about. So rest assured that even if I hear the worst of the worst, I won’t know if it’s you or your grandmother in the next suburb that is going under the knife, having a baby, or a bilateral salpingo-ophorectomy. As you can see, I’ve learned a few new words, and some, like the aforementioned, have been indelibly stamped into my brain for the rest of my life. Let’s face it, who could forget words like hepatosplenomegaly, ¬†oronasopharyngeal or esophagogastroduodenoscopy?

I’m not even getting warmed up yet, and neither is this course. I’m about a third of the way through BAC, then comes AAC, or ‘Advanced Acute Care.’ I can’t imagine how much more advanced that I will need to be to get through the ‘Advanced’ version of it all.

Then after that we have the objective examination portion of all that we have learned in theory so far, of which I am hoping still resides somewhere in the corners of my unconsciousness. After I get through that, then there’s the practical, God help me.

If I manage to get through all of that, I would imagine that I will be more than capable of anything that any dictator can throw at me.

Leave a Reply

