MT revisited

For those in the know, I have recently embarked on a voyage of discovery, a voyage in a new direction to test the finer qualities of my patience, if I ever had any at all, for the next few months.

I have decided, in my wisdom, that I need a new career, a change of pace, and an income from home, rather than slogging it out with the rest of the rat race on our overused and under-maintained roads and highways. I’ve done it all before, from university to Tafe college, and I’m doing it again in a different way. Online study, in my opinion, is the way of the future, and the future of a new breed of worker who can ‘do it all behind closed doors’…Work, that is. Keep your mind out of the gutter. I’ve had enough of the nine to five regimen, or in my case, the eight to six and the shiftwork that redefined ‘inconvenient.’

So here I am again. Ready to sign for the new year into my study server and download all types of fun and games classified as ‘medical reports.’  I am now negotiating the terrain of the medical transcriptionist. I have said it before here on my posts, and I will say it again. It is not as easy as some people think it is. I once thought that university was tough, but those  2500 word essays and 3-hour examinations pale in comparison to the dread of getting through around 800 reports of unimaginable difficulty and a sound  quality so bad at times, that you need to be a linguistics expert by the first paragraph.

I’ve had a couple of weeks off over the Christmas and New Year break, and I think I’ve deserved it. Self-paced online home study requires a certain amount of discipline that is not for the faint-hearted. A belief in yourself is paramount, and a steely resolve not to waste a cent of that non-refundable up-front fee by procrastinating, is all-consuming. You only get 12 months to get through the curse….sorry, course, and it’s a pretty tight schedule.

The first half of the course consists of more medical jargon that I have seen or heard in a lifetime. As a frequent visitor to hospitals over the years, and a working life that has revolved around medical administration and patient care, I have been exposed to my share of the medical dictionary, or so I thought.

Right now I’m at the pointy end of the stick. I’m up to my eyeballs and earlobes in sounds that range from high pitched nasally screeching to gum chewing, yawning, paper-flicking mumbling. Illegibility is not only confined to prescriptions…..and yes, I know that illegibility is not really a word, but if they can make up words, then so can I.

By the time I finish and have that holy grail of the  qualified ‘MT’, my certification, I will become highly employable from the home. That is the plan anyway, and hopefully my future. I just have to get through another 450 reports and sit the end examination, and pass with flying colours, to realise my dream. I believe that it will be worthwhile, and that the course itself is designed to be hard for a reason. If I can get through this and out the other side, then I can almost certainly get through any kind of transcription that they can throw at me.

To all of those who are already out there transcribing, you deserve a medal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

