With love, for Christmas

I probably should be posting a little more than what I have managed in the last few weeks, but I’ve been busy. And life is just about interesting enough to write about now as Christmas approaches at a rapid rate, and the relatives and presents come out of the woodwork.

I’ve had the usual Christmas cards, the odd phone call, and a handful of low-maintenance return-the-favour enterprises that have involved stamping and posting, but nothing out of the ordinary up until a few days ago.

Santa (with a little help from my husband) has gone all out a little early this year and managed to provide me with a new set of wheels with all the trimmings. The first I knew of this major undertaking was my husband’s self-satisfied smirk, and a jostling of a set of keys in his right hand as he led me to his quarry and ran his hands over the gleaming silver body of a VW Polo. It was love at first sight of course. I am a big fan of the VW range, and my enterprising husband knew it.

He did it all by himself, and I am in awe of him. I am usually the computer geek and the mastermind behind a well-orchestrated surprise-and-a-half.  I am also usually the bargain hunter, the savvy shopper, and the smart buyer of good quality merchandise on the Internet. Two years ago my husband couldn’t send an email. Now he’s buying cars and accessories at the touch of a few buttons.

I’ve taken her on her maiden drive to the first fancy restaurant I could find to celebrate not only my gift, but the precious gift of love that I am lucky enough to have in my life. It’s great to have a new car, that’s for sure, but it’s even greater to have my wonderful husband.

Leave a Reply

