Lucy

It’s been a frustrating year. The aforementioned health issue hasn’t helped the situation, and I’m feeling like a cat on a hot tin roof. Therefore, I must assume that I am starting to feel better. Could be worse. At least I’m starting to take an interest in things again. Like my motorbike Lucy.

Lucy was a present from my husband two Christmases ago. He could have bought himself a boat, but he did the honourable thing and bought me Lucy instead. I say honourable with tongue in cheek. My husband is a good man, but he knows that his life would have become a living hell if he’d denied me the object of my desire.

I’d had my eyes on Lucy’s model for a couple of years. I’d read the specs and done the sums, and taken test rides here and there. I thought about a Harley once or twice, but decided against it. At the risk of offending any dedicated Harley riders out there, I could only afford a second-hand Harley, not a new one, and I didn’t want somebody else’s trouble. Made good sense to me. I wanted a new bike anyway. No ghosts or pasts to worry about.

The day I got her I was excited and nervous at the same time. It had been a while since I’d been on a bigger bike. I had been riding around on a 250cc for a couple of years. Ten years before, when I was immortal,  I was the proud owner of a beautiful big road bike. I loved the bike and I loved the attention. There weren’t many women bike riders in my area. It’s amazing what a decent ride and a set of leathers can do for one’s wellbeing.

That all stopped when I was diagnosed with a brain tumour and my world went kind of pear-shaped for a while. It took a long time to recover and resume a semblance of a normal life. I managed to go back to study, and go back to work. What I didn’t manage to do was to get back on a bike again. My balance had been affected, or so they told me. It would be a while before I could prove them wrong.

Anyway, back to Lucy. The ride home was a glorious rush of adrenaline, euphoria and terror all at the same time. I felt like I was stoned when I got home. And it took a long time to come down. I didn’t want to. I was free of the mind-melt of the last few years. I enjoyed many more similar rides until I got to the point where I couldn’t again.

I have spent the last 12 months with a health problem. It’s as simple as that. I won’t go into it here, because it’s not necessary. Suffice it to say that it has been another huge emotional and mental learning curve that I have gone through and come out the other side. Good health is a valuable thing. When you don’t have it, you wish for it, and envy others who can do what they please. But you get over it, because if you don’t you become a miserable ass that nobody listens to anyway.

I’m on the mend. And I’m planning on having a better year in 2012. Here’s to me. And Lucy. My first ride will be a joyous occasion for all concerned. Me, myself and I. And maybe my husband because I may finally stop grumbling and get a life again.

2012 promises to be a good year. I will bounce along the highways once again, with nothing between me and the road but some fresh air and a few prayers. I will finish that course I’m studying and finally get back to work. It’s good to have goals. The world needs more goals and less red tape.

I’m looking forward to being me again. Hope you can come along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

