Dogs like us

I find myself relating pets to their owners, often. Yes, I know the saying ‘that pets and owners often resemble each other’, but I see that phrase in action nearly everywhere I go.

Take the man down the road. He’s a hard worker – he’s always got a project on the go. He’s literally like a dog with a bone..and so is his dog Jack – the Jack Russell, obviously. Jack doesn’t sit still either. He digs, and digs some more. When he’s satisfied that he has excavated enough immediate terrain, he surveys his handywork for a moment and then goes off to investigate the possibilities of another dig. I’m pretty sure that man and beast put in a hard days work, take their respective breaks together and sleep the bare minimum necessary for a quality of life.

And then there’s sweet Lacy. She’s a long haired short something-cross with the same airy disposition as her ex-unhibited 70’s hippy child human earth-mother. Lacy has inherited the same wild curly locks as her mother, and lives her life in low gear, taking each day as it comes – which is fortunate really, as she is often left to wander and forage for herself while her Mum goes off au naturel to a day spa up the coast.

And what about Mini and Minor? A couple of pint sized Pomeraniums that don’t know when to shut up. They’ve got something to say about anything that moves in or out of their front yard, but they’ve got nothing on their owner – who runs the community newsletter and what she doesn’t know about locally isn’t worth knowing – apparently. Enough said.

And then there’s Buster. He and his Dad wouldn’t raise an eyebrow down on the docks at midnight. Between them they’d make up the size of the broad side of a barn, and a dark alley would look homey in comparison. Scarey stuff, to be sure, but roll either man or dog over and scratch his belly and they’d be putty in your hands.

And lastly there’s Jake, a jowly, cranky grunting little Bulldog that walks with a limp and is intolerant of just about anybody but his jowly cranky, arthritic, wheezing, old and short owner.

Bear in mind that this is just in my immediate community, and while it gives no real indication of the reality of the situation, the implications are there. Do we take on our dog’s persona or vice-versa? Or is it there all along and we unconsciously select a companion that we know we can relate to on some level? I have no answers, but I’ve noticed lately that my two out of three of my dogs’ penchants for comfort are starting to extend to elevating their heads on a soft surface while in the horozontal position..ie cushions. One has even taken it so far as to drag a little pillow around so that he can elevate his head on a whim.  I don’t believe I have encouraged this behaviour, but I haven’t discouraged it either. Are my dogs behaving like me? I don’t carry a pillow around the house – I don’t need to – they are everywhere, and I have been known to take my pillow with me at times when we are staying overnight elsewhere. What can I say – it’s my favourite.

 

Leave a Reply

