My fur-kids

Champion Bichons Frises pretending to be littl...

Image by Al_HikesAZ via Flickr

I went on an outing last night with my mother, and as my husband is away, my fur-kids found themselves on their own at night for the first time in their lives.

I spend a lot of time at home, either studying or creating another pet or human ‘masterpiece’, so they have gotten used to having me around them ALL of the time – which may not be a good thing. They now suffer from separation anxiety as soon as I step out the door.

The crying starts way before I reach for the front door handle and try to gently shut it behind me. It starts as soon as I put my shoes on and reach for my handbag. They seem to know beforehand if they are coming or not. They must recognise a difference in the shoes I wear for their walkies, and the shoes I wear for my own walkies.

It reaches fever pitch by the time I make it to the carport and climb in the car. They are both howling miserably, and it’s reverberating around the neighbourhood. By this time I’m praying that I don’t find any nasty little surprises from any irate neighbours in my letterbox on my return.

I’m not sure how long it goes on for, and I’m definitely not sure if I want to go out at night again. Better to wear a bit of neighbourhood disdain in the daytime than to suffer neighbourhood abuse at bedtime.

My husband says that I should be more firm, but he’s a fine one to talk about laying the law down when he melts at the first sign of a ‘doe eye’. Yes, he definitely has his favourites, and ‘snuggling up on the lounge’ has taken on a whole new meaning.

Yes, I have created a couple of spoilt fur-monsters, but there’s nothing nicer than being on the receiving end of their excited rants when I finally decide to come home. They have forgiven me instantly and are consumed with a happiness that seems to be limitless. I am amazed at their ability to let go and hold no grudge for being ‘so hard done by.’ I remember when I was a child my mother went away for a couple of days, and the feeling of abandonment was overwhelming. It took me a long time to get over it and I didn’t speak to her for days – which must have been terrible for her. Having the ability to just let it go would have been a much easier exercise for everybody concerned.

We could all learn a little about life from observing our fur-kids.

Leave a Reply

