I’m an Australian

I’m an Australian. I was born here, and I will almost certainly die here. I love the place. Some people moan and groan about a lot of different things here – like not getting enough money for NOT doing a days work, or not getting a good health service or a good democratic lifestyle, but I bet they’ve never experienced what it is like to live in a country that is ravaged by poverty and disease, or a city that is in danger of disappearing under a pile of rubble because of the daily bomb blasts and missile fire.

I’ve never experienced extreme poverty or been bombed as I try to go about my daily business either. We didn’t have much when I was growing up, but I had all the essentials – a home, food and clothing, and good clean drinking water. I’m not a bleeding heart, I just think that even the poorest people in this country would be better off than a child that is starving in Africa, or a child who has lost both of his parents in a bomb blast on the Gaza strip. Don’t get me wrong, everybody has their misery in life, and their low points – but even this is relative to the environment that we live in. A man who is assaulted and left for dead in this country would be more likely to survive and make it to the local hospital than somebody who lived in a country that didn’t even have a medical service.

We should get a grip and thank god everyday that we have been allowed the privilege of living in a country where we are allowed to express ourselves, live freely, earn a decent living if we can, get an education, have a system of welfare, have access to medical and housing and be allowed to vote without getting shot.

Leave a Reply

