Life’s good habits

I had to go away recently, and I couldn’t take my dogs with me. I won’t go into the reasons for my absence, but it was an extremely sad occasion, and it made me realise how important my family, friends and pets were to me.

I missed my husband and my dogs while I was away. Their absence seemed to compound my grief even more. I was extremely grateful to snuggle up in bed with all of the above when I returned home.  I have given a lot of thought over the last few days about what is important, and what is not:

  • Family is everything, and the demonstration of solidarity and love is more important than how much money you have or what kind of car you drive.
  • Take the time to keep in touch with those you care about, you never know what is going to happen tomorrow.
  • Tell those you love that you love them – often.
  • Tell your dog you love him/her (yes, your dog – don’t worry if you look stupid – he will know what you are saying and you will feel better for it).
  • Appreciate what you have now – not tomorrow or next year, when you have this or that.
  • Find solace in what brings you peace – read a book, go to church, meditate, practice yoga, stretch the tired body once in a while.
  • Be happy – practice one happy thought once a day. You will be surprised how quickly it will become a habit.
  • Be grateful when you wake up in the morning. Even if you are unwell. At least you are here to experience the day.
  • Love yourself. You can love others better this way.

It can be difficult to get through the sad times, but try to take heart. Others have walked in your shoes. We are with you. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

