The artist in me

I like to dabble in a bit of artwork in my spare time. Art has always worked it’s way into my life in one form or another.  When I was young, before I went to university and actually got some professional art experience, I was painting murals onto walls of fun parlours and amusement halls. I would hope that they are still there, although the realist in me says that they would have been painted over by now or the buildings they were in would have been torn down to make way for some new shopping plaza or highrise. Perhaps they would have been saved for prosperity, but I doubt it. I’m not a famous artist or a famous dead artist yet.

It hasn’t really dampened my enthusiasm for creating an artistic piece of work though. In the last few years I have built up a reputation for drawing some nice, even great, portraits of peoples’ pets. It’s become such a nice little sideline that I have had a website built around it, and incorporated a doggy blog site into it for a bit of fun and humour.

It’s coming along quite well these days. The feedback I’m getting is even swinging me towards portraits of people, for which I am receiving some positive reinforcement and some monetory gain. I’m working towards having a bigger studio and perhaps even a gallery in a couple of years. In the meantime I shall take my life as it comes, do a little work, have a little fun, relax a little, and be outrageous when necessary.

Leave a Reply

